top of page

Trying New Things in Japan

Onsens & Okonomiyaki, Thrifting, Cafe Hopping, and More

This week I tried to find my groove in Japan and somewhat build a style for myself . . .


This latter half of April was fun-filled with adjusting to the culture and overall lifestyle in Tokyo and Japan. I found that the weather was beginning to get warmer on some days but I continued on trekking.


Onsen's and Okonomiyaki

The very first time I tried an Onsen was very intimidating as I was not used to the practices and what was in store. But, I quickly opened up to this relaxing activity that left me very relaxed and soothed at the end of the day/night. I highly recommend trying out your first Onsen and if you have any tattoos there are a few lenient locations within Tokyo, check out, "The 10 Best Tattoo Friendly Onsen in Tokyo and Around!"


I also had to try out this Okonomiyaki restaurant that was right across from my dormitory. Its very well recommended by current and previous residents for the food, and its kind owner. A couple of us decided to try it out one day and we were not disappointed. My favorite part of the meal was when he took a picture of us and asked us to create a drawing where he will tape the photo to have of our first time here in his restaurant (see photo below).


Thrifting in Japan

Tokyo is known for its vibrant and trendy fashion styles. One of the more known districts to go shopping is Shimokitazawa. There are many stores that sell nice pieces you can get for a decently affordable rate. Don't miss out!


Shōwa Day, Dorm Life, etc.

August 29th was Shōwa Day, in celebration of Emperor Shōwa (Hirohito), I decided to take a visit to the Meiji Shrine and explore the wonders of this amazing landmark in Harajuku. The following day, a couple of dormmates and I decided to get together and make a group brunch where we prepared a few dishes that we were missing like Pancakes, Eggs Benedict, etc. This was a core memory for me as it was something as simple as brunch that really made me be appreciative of the little things throughout this exchange. Lastly, while out shopping in Harajuku I got to meet a famous Japanese content creator @jesseogn !


bottom of page