top of page

First Weeks in Japan

Adjusting to Japanese Culture, Exploring Tourist Spots, and Sakura Season . . .


Arrival and First Impressions of Japan.


I arrived at Narita International Airport on Thursday, March 16th. I had stayed at an inn near the airport since I arrived late in the evening. The next day, I took the daunting task of taking the train to Tokyo, and my next hotel. I ended up spending an hour in the corner figuring out the train system, until I asked someone at the airport for some help. *Don't be afraid to ask for help, it may save you lots of unnecessary time wasted*.


I arrived at my hotel in Tokyo where I would be staying for a week before I checked into my dorm. I stayed at the Apa Ryogoku Hotel in Sumida City. I highly recommend APA hotels like this because of their affordable price, accommodating staff, and plethora of amenities!


Sakura Season

I was lucky enough to have arrived in Japan right at the start of the Sakura Blooming. It was a magical experience that felt like something straight out of the movies. I highly recommend trying to plan your trips around this time as the weather is perfect and the trees are worth it!



Exploring

Japan in the Spring

I ended up going out like a tourist for the first few weeks here as I was really interested in exploring these places before I inevitably had to start school. My friends are great planners who scheduled day to day activities that really made this period exciting and allowed me to explore parts of Tokyo/Japan that I could have never done any other time!


bottom of page