top of page

Adjusting to Japan



As I became more and more accustomed to the daily lifestyle of Tokyo, I discovered some triumphs alongside some challenges in my daily routine and complications in my attempt to establish some consistency.


Little Things: Buying Groceries in Another Language


Adjusting to life in Tokyo has been a fascinating journey, filled with unexpected twists and turns. One of the first challenges I encountered was the language barrier. Japanese, with its intricate characters and nuanced expressions, can be really overwhelming for someone who doesn't speak a single lick of Japanese.

Especially for everyday things like going to the grocery store to buy some goods can be lengthy for someone like me. I'm used to reading labels on the back or comparing between products but here in Japan I can't even read what the product is sometimes!



Even the simplest tasks, like reading street signs or ordering food, suddenly became monumental feats. However, with a mix of determination and friendly locals, I quickly learned that communication transcends language. Pointing, gesturing, and flashing a smile became my universal language, fostering connections and breaking down the barriers that initially seemed insurmountable.


Getting sick in Japan

As it turns out, going out almost every night and doing numerous different things all at once is not very forgiving on your physical body. I quickly faced the consequences of going full speed ahead and didn't give myself enough rest to allow my body to adapt to its new environment.

The reality of being in a foreign country hit me when I fell ill during my second month in Tokyo. Navigating the Japanese healthcare system was an eye-opener. I found myself in a bustling clinic, armed with a handful of Japanese phrases from my language app, desperately trying to convey my symptoms. Fortunately, the staff's kindness and willingness to help made the experience less daunting. Through a combination of broken Japanese and empathetic gestures, I received the care I needed. This incident taught me the importance of adapting to the unexpected and embracing the support of the local community.




bottom of page